Windows 7: Adapt or die

Hello fellow readers… I have sad news. Yep, very sad news. My life has gone through a big change and I cannot do things the same way I used to. I have a lot less time available to me now to write blog updates and to raid and play WoW in general.

Why? Well, I’ve updated the hardware in my computer and with that I installed Windows 7 (was using Windows XP before). So now I’m struggling to do pretty much anything at a normal pace. Microsoft decided to move every-fucking-thing around to new places and it makes me mental! Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrgh!

PTR seemingly over

It seems like the PTR has gone through the final stages and is ready for release. Both Wowhead and MMO-Champion reports that 4.0.6 will hit the live servers next week. Cool stuff!

There hasn’t been a lot of news about changes for the upcoming 4.0.6 patch, just two things stood out for me:

First off, apparently Blizzard has intended to NOT put gem slots in the Agility craftables from Leatherworking. They have put gem slots in all the other crafted epics just like they promised and even went over it twice to tweak it a bit but the Agility items remain unchanged. For hunters this means that Dragonkiller Tunic and Corded Viper Belt remains weaker than other options for those slots.

Brace for QQ

And secondly, this (Source):

In case you aren’t already aware, Luck of the Draw is the name of the buff you get for grouping with random people using Dungeon Finder. It currently provides a 5% buff to damage, healing, and health if you have at least one random player in your group. With patch 4.0.6, we are increasing this buff to 5% damage, healing, and health per random player, up to a maximum of 15%.

In the process of working on this change we actually discovered that the Luck of the Draw buff has not been working in Cataclysm at all, save for a few specific dungeons. This means that the difficulty in almost all normal and Heroic dungeons for those using the Dungeon Finder tool was higher than expected. Still, with that issue corrected in 4.0.6, we feel the bump up to 15% for three or more random players found through the Dungeon Finder is a necessary change.

… Wait what? First you guys make almost every encounter and trash pull in these dungeons easier with a new hotfix every other day and then even more on the PTR and now there’s a flat 10% less difficulty? :o

I don’t know about you guys but I’ve been breezing through heroic dungeons like they were Wrath of the Lich King dungeons lately. The tank goes in and takes everything to the face and the dpsers AOEs everything down regardless of if it goes faster or not. The healer stays above 80% most of the time and never sits down to drink.

Earlier today I was planning out the CC on a pull with trapping, sheeping, etc. while the tank decided to ignore all of that and just ran in and tanked a group of five mobs (with healers) without any CC. The tank and other dpsers were pugged and the healer was one of my guildies trying out his offspec healing. The result? No challenge at all, it went down and we were never close to dying.

The day before that I was doing my daily random heroic (Throne of the Tides) while watching TV, just sorta moving along and pressing buttons now and then. It reminded me of how I had been doing random dungeons in most of Wrath and I have to say I was really disappointed to be able to faceroll this new content so quickly.

… And now it’s gonna be even easier. Well that’s it guys and gals, I guess our hopes of having the general population become a bit more knowledgeable about their situational abilities such as CC’s and interrupts went a bit too far. Let’s instead welcome Árthãs, Master Chief and all their friends into our guilds. They obviously know how this game should be played.

Ok, sorry about that. I just had to nerdrage for a bit.

What’s the best pet?

Frostheim of Warcraft Hunters Union posted a video of how to answer this question properly and how to deal with those that ask it to you repeatedly.

:>

Recommended reading

Cheers,
Gav

About Gavendo

I write a World of Warcraft blog called "Rapid Fire" on the topics; hunters, pets and achievement hunting.
This entry was posted in Blue Posts, General, Hunter, Hunter Pets, Videos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Windows 7: Adapt or die

  1. Aybar says:

    I don’t know Gav, I’ve only been running through them after I’d gotten all the gear I needed out of them. Before that I was running out of mana healing everyone. Right now you are running through them in raiding gear, I would be worried if you were not pwn-ing them.

    And after so many PuG fails after waiting for 40 minutes on my alt, I don’t even mind if it’s too easy anymore. At least then the complete morons won’t waste another 40 minutes of my life!

  2. Gavendo says:

    Well, I guess we won’t be sure of how it’s gonna be until we actually do some randoms in 4.0.6.

    I sincerly do hope my nerdrage was unjustified and that I am made to look like a prick rather than the dungeons being a complete lolfest where we get instant rewards for no effort.

  3. Silversorrow says:

    I’ve been coming to your site for a few months now and it is a great source on information and I want to thank you very much for doing this. I also just had to coment on the video linked here, that is the funniest dam video I’ve ever seen and I have not laughed that hard in many years lol, I still laugh my ass off every time I watch it because it is sooooooo true.

Leave a Reply

