Melee hunters are back

I haven’t been posting the last few days and you might be able to guess why… I’ve been busy playing the game! There’s so much to do all of the sudden! But never fear because here’s another update from your friendly neighborhood Spider-Man… I mean; hunter.

Top Dog & Cat

So currently I’m worging it up in Deepholm, working to finish off those quests to get my Loremaster of Cataclysm achievement and gain reputation with the Earthen Ring and Therazene in the process. When people run into me down there they see something like this:

Die! Die! Die! Bwahahahaha!

… then they get terribly frightened and run off.

But usually before they run off, they notice my pet and makes sure to send me whispers about it asking where I got it from. Because you see, I have the unique rare spawn lion for a pet. He is known as Sambas and can sometimes be found in Twilight Highlands.

Look at him, isn’t he a beaut?

My pet 'Clarkson' and I, hanging out with the Wildhammer Clan.

Huntering in melee?

Last night the guild tried to raid the first boss in Tol Barad on 25-man and then again on 10-man. We weren’t really able to complete it, the best we got it to was 20% in 10-man when he enraged. Since we had mostly very competent dpsers in there I figured it was probably a gearing issue (very few of us had any gear from heroics yet).
But my guild failing at being as awesome as Paragon isn’t what I wanted to point out here, what I wanted to say is that during the encounter I discovered something veeeeeery interesting:

I was able to stand right inside the boss’ hitbox and fire off shots, I was able to stand on top of him and fire off shots – I was able to be in MELEE and fire off shots. I don’t know if this is intentional or not (please god let it be, please please please please) though I’m guessing it’s probably not. It’s most likely a bug, a mistake by the developers on this specific boss. Well, I say, let’s just hope this bug happens to spread to other bosses and maybe one day even to battlegrounds and let’s hope it’s a low priority bug such as pets appearing with less than 20% health (which has been in the game for years) and that it never gets fixed!

I haven’t been able to fire off shots at anything else in melee except for this one quest called “Blackout” in Twilight Highlands where you’re jumping from drake to drake (very much like the dreaded quest in Storm Peaks)… But having said that, I have not been to any other raid boss yet.

Some recommended reading

Ok I’m not really doing my bit in helping the community with guides at the moment but there’s really no need to because there are so many other excellent guides out there already! Here are some that I really think you should give a look-see:

Cheers,
Gav

About Gavendo

I write a World of Warcraft blog called "Rapid Fire" on the topics; hunters, pets and achievement hunting.
This entry was posted in General, Hunter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Melee hunters are back

  1. Bimini Asheye says:

    Being able to shoot within a hitbox (even a raidboss’ large one) is very interesting! I’ll have to pass that along to my hunter guildies.

    Who’s wedding is going on in one of your Highlands screenshots? Are they player characters or is it for a quest?

    • Gavendo says:

      Well I don’t know if that melee thing will actually work on any other raid boss, we’ll have to see. It’s definitely something your hunters should try though, since it did work on Algaroth. 😮

      The wedding is part of the major storyline of the Wildhammer Clan quests, so yeah it’s between some NPCs and not real people.

  2. Pingback: Dec 20 hotfixes and more | Rapid Fire

Leave a Reply

