Racechanging to Worgen(?)

"I offer service with a smile"

My Night Elf hunter has been my main since I started playing this game. I had made one or two characters before it but they only got to level 10-20 or so. Once I got my hunter started is when I really got into the game. I started exploring the world, looking for quests in remote locations, trying to find things other people had missed. I even read up a lot on the Night Elf lore to really get into my character and that is despite not really roleplaying at all.

Eventually I got into raiding and that was the first time I realized Night Elves didn’t always have the upper-hand, due to their pretty shoddy racials when it comes to dps.

So the point I’m making here is that I do feel really attached to my character the way he is and the race that he is… Despite all that, I am really considering changing him into a Worgen due to the benefits that it would provide. This post shall be my justification for this decision if I go through with it.

Lore: Who are the Worgen?

The playable Worgen faction in the game are descendants of the families of Gilneas who shut themselves away from the world behind the Greymane wall. The leader of the Gilnean faction had decided that they were not gonna have anything to do with the Alliance or the rest of the world after the second war and that’s why they put up that wall. However things didn’t stay safe behind the wall forever as they had hoped.

A druidic sect who worshiped the wolf god Goldrinn had eventually become feral, insane and incredibly dangerous after constantly shapeshifting into wolf forms. The other druids of the world decided to put them away and put them into an eternal slumber deep beneath a tree. Of course, nothing in this world remains static forever and eventually the curse beneath the tree spread to it’s surroundings. Since the Gilnean people had isolated themselves from the rest of the world they didn’t get any help from the Alliance during the time that the curse overtook them but after time they found out ways to regain their sanity via alchemy on their own.

The shattering brought to the world by Deathwing caused the Greymane wall to fall which made the citizens of Gilneas very vulnerable to attacks from the Forsaken whom are now trying to overtake their land. This caused Gilneas to seek aid from the Alliance.

Roleplay: The curse

The Worgen who come from Gilneas were all originally fully human and will one day become human again if their hopes are to be fulfilled since they are constantly looking for a cure. This doesn’t mean that every Worgen in the game would have to have been human before becoming a Worgen though. The curse had originally struck Night Elves and could most likely damn any other race in the game.

So if you’re planning on racechanging your character from a Human, it will all fight like a glove and make total sense. But even if you weren’t a Human before and you’re switching from Night Elf, Dwarf, Gnome or Draenei then it won’t be totally impossible roleplay-wise since the curse really could infect anyone.

I imagine that my character got the curse while traveling through the area during the hundreds of years where he was deeply exploring Azeroth.

Worgen Racials

  • Darkflight (3 min cooldown) – Activates your true form, increasing movement speed by 40% for 10 sec.
  • Viciousness (passive) – Increases critical strike chance by 1%.
  • Aberration (passive) – Increases your resistance to harmful Nature and Shadow effects by 1.
  • Flayer (passive) – Skinning skill increased by 15 and allows you to skin 0.5 seconds faster.
  • Two Forms (1.5 sec cooldown) – Transforms you between human and worgen forms. You will revert to worgen form in combat.
  • Running Wild (1.5 sec cooldown) – Drop to all fours to run as fast as a wild animal.

Pros

  • Viciousness is the absolute best dps racial available for the Alliance.
  • The speed boost racial is fantastic as well even though it’s rumored to share cooldown with other similar abilities such as Dash, Sprint and I’m guessing the Engineering Nitro Boost – It can’t fail like that one can though. πŸ™‚
  • Worgen have the second most base agility of the Alliance races: 25.
    For comparison: Night Elves have the most with 28 and dwarves have the least with 19.
  • Playing the race is the only way to enjoy the Worgen “mount”.
  • It’s a new and interesting race with intriguing lore.
  • Looks awesome with it’s new models which are a lot less clunky than the old classic models such as the ones for Night Elves.

Cons

  • Since it’s new it’ll be the “Flavor of the Month”-race and a lot of people will be switching to it. Possibly causing a new saying such as “worgtard” or similar.
  • Twilight association, eew!
  • The ability “Two Forms” which enables you to switch to Human form when you’re out of combat causes a very strong association with Humans even though you might want to roleplay as a Dwarf or Night Elf who got the curse.

    "Worgen Hunter" by Krista Leemhuis

    I’m guessing I don’t ever have to use it, but it’s there and I know I’ll end up using it sooner or later and eventually I might get out of touch with my Night Elf roots!

  • We fear change.

Conclusion

I think I’ll be switching… it’s just a matter of being able to let go. Which is something a lot of geeks and nerds like me have a very hard time with, you know what I mean. But hopefully I’ll get past that and allow my character to get cursed and buffed into providing crazy dps while looking terribly sexy.

For me, learning more about “Two Forms” will be the deciding factor. If it’s something I can completely ignore and never ever have to go into Human form then I’m much more likely to go for Worgen.

Also, wouldn’t it be awesome if Blizzard changed that ability so you could revert to your previous race rather than just Human? That might be a bit much for one race though, but it would be awesome for anyone who cares a bit about roleplay.

Cheers,
Gav

Related articles

  • Scattered Shots writes about the hunter races and which one provides the best dps racials.
  • WoW Insider writes about why you would wanna play a Worgen.
About Gavendo

I write a World of Warcraft blog called "Rapid Fire" on the topics; hunters, pets and achievement hunting.
This entry was posted in General, Hunter, Reflection, Videos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Racechanging to Worgen(?)

  1. Aybar says:

    Big con: When you race change they erase all your quests and remove quest items. This presumably includes Dartol’s rod of transformation! (haven’t been able to verify it yet)

    When you go to redo the quests you get a rod that is a different item and realy only works inside ashenvale!

    • Gavendo says:

      Well yeah, but that’s true for any race change and not specifically for changing to Worgen. I looked up the official information on this (can be found here) and it seems like the only thing affected by a race change is indeed your current quests in your quest log and quest items related to those quests.

      As for confirmation here it is (Source):

      IF you still have this item, DON’T race change or do anything with your character like that. This item will disappear and be unattainable.

      It happened to me, today I decided I’d race change to a human and it disappeared, the GM denied to give it back to me because its no long attainable through quests.

      This doesn’t really concern me though since I never had it in the first place. πŸ™‚

      Cheers,
      Gav

  2. Pingback: Cataclysm: Day One and hotfixes for Dec 7 | Rapid Fire

Leave a Reply

