Taming beasts with appearance buffs

Acherontia wrote a guide on the Petopia forums about how to tame beasts with special appearance and/or animations that disappear once tamed. Using his method you can retain special appearances like this one:

While the pets keep their special appearance they do not keep their size. So devilsaurs and that gigantic gorilla from Stranglethorn Vale for example, won’t be knocking down any Inns anytime soon.

There’s one caveat to this by the way, if the pet ever dies or you die with the pet out the special look goes away.

Here’s how to do it:

Step 1: Find a pet with a buff you like.

Step 2: Trigger the pet’s appearance change, if necessary.

Step 3: Tame Beast, and spam the following macro as the tame completes: /script PetAbandon()

Step 4: If it went well, the pet will be gone, but you will “already have an active summon” when you attempt to retame another. Relog, and your new shiny pet will be there.

Step 5: NEVER let it die >.> Also, do NOT die, yourself, while the pet is out. I have confirmed that this will also wipe the pet’s buffs.

I tried it myself and it works quite well as you can see by the image below.

A tamed pet Icepaw bear next to a dead real Icepaw bear (notice the size difference)

This is of course very cool and fun for us hunters but really, this is a bug. This has “bug” written all over it and it will most likely be fixed some time soon. Since we can’t really use the pets in combat because they might die and lose their special awesomeness this couldn’t really be considered game breaking. So even though it’s a bug, it might not be very high priority to get fixed.

Well I don’t know about you, but I’m gonna go and tame some special showcase pets for safekeeping! πŸ™‚

You can find some inspiration for special beasts to tame in the same thread.

I did a bit of testing myself and came up with these constants:

  • These special pets work as normal pets, with spells and talents.
  • If they die, they lose their special appearance and revert to the normal pet look for that type of beast.
  • Dismissing the pet or moving it in or out of the stables does not remove the special look.
  • Entering or leaving a battleground does not remove the special look. But then again, if you die or the pet does, the special look goes away.

Update (16:24): Some pets do retain their special appearance even after death. Check the constantly updating thread for information on which pets have this special feature

Randomly unrelated

Cheers,
Gav

About Gavendo

I write a World of Warcraft blog called "Rapid Fire" on the topics; hunters, pets and achievement hunting.
This entry was posted in General, Hunter, Hunter Pets and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Taming beasts with appearance buffs

  1. Aeliel says:

    Now why’d you have to go and point out that list? I was quite happy with my list of perfectly normal pets with perfectly normal appearances to tame on my hunter.

    Now I might just have to go and get myself some of these “just for show” ones, some of them are quite pretty… and I don’t have enough stable slots. Argh!

    (In all seriousness though, thanks. I’d managed to miss it and I like unique looks.)

  2. Gavendo says:

    Haha, yeah I know what you mean. 25 stable slots suddenly don’t feel all that spacious! Just repeat this mantra to yourself “five stable slots, five stable slots, five stable slots” to remind yourself of how it used to be. πŸ™‚

    Cheers,
    Gav

    • Aeliel says:

      Heh. I’ve been playing long enough to remember the good old days when hunters got THREE stable slots, and they cost good gold. When they gave us five it suddenly felt like having so many… then they filled up. Then 25 felt enormous, and now it suddenly seems tiny.

      Must resist urge to level another hunter…

  3. Thanks for the randomly unrelated about the rep increase maybe I’ll look into Thorium Brotherhood rep now. I’m going to try to forget I read the taming beasts info I think I have about three actually functional pets the rest I have just because I liked the way they looked!

  4. Pingback: Dec 13 hotfixes | Rapid Fire

Leave a Reply

