R.I.P. Keys

Today Blizzard announced that in patch 4.2 you will no longer have a keyring next to your bags. This is the final nail in the coffin of previously beloved and hated feature known as attunements. Blizzard also hints that something awesome will take it’s place in the interface.

From the horse’s mouth (Source):

World of Warcraft has evolved quite a bit since the day the Keyring bag slot was added in patch 1.11. When implemented, this Keyring provided players with a convenient way of storing dungeon, quest, and other keys automatically. Back when the largest bag was a mind bottling 18 slots – rumoured to be bottomless – the Keyring helped save precious bag space. But as things tend to do, time went on, bags got bigger, and designs for gating content (literally and figuratively) evolved through the years.

In today’s Azeroth, keys don’t really serve much of a purpose except to take up physical storage space from the game (which could be used for other awesome stuff), and visual interface space on yours. Because of this, we’ve decided to get rid of the Keyring in order to free up some user interface space for exciting new features. This change could also potentially allow us to play around with the amount of default storage space you’re allotted down the road. So, what does this mean for you and the keys you might not have looked at in the last couple expansions or so?

We’re currently working on the implementation of a system in patch 4.2 which will handle the removal of the Keyring, while causing you as little hassle with keys as possible. Some keys which no longer serve a purpose in the game will automatically be removed from your inventory. In return, you’ll be compensated for them with their respective vendor sell prices in gold. You might also have random leftover quest keys from outdated quests, or quests which were removed in Cataclysm. Keys that fall into this category have no use and no sell price, as they are labelled as quest items, and will be automatically removed from your inventory. Any remaining keys that might still potentially serve some use in the game will be transferred into your regular inventory. If there is not enough space in your inventory to hold any leftover keys once patch 4.2 hits live realms, the keys will be placed in a backlogged storage system. Once space is made for a backlogged key, the key will take that space after you log out or switch to a new zone (i.e. changing continents, entering a dungeon or Battleground, etc.).

We are continuing to work on new ways of allowing you to better manage the storage of various items in the game, and it is our goal to make sure the removal of the Keyring causes as little inconvenience to you as possible.

I saw this coming when 4.0.3 had been released since Blizzard had started to remove keys that they didn’t feel belong to the game anymore and even took away the awesomely fantastic Keymaster achievement (and for whatever reason decided not to make it into a feat of strength).

Personally I am saddened to see the that keys, epic quest chains or long rep grinds to get attuned to dungeons are things of the past. Sure, the (mostly) very cumbersome ways for you to get attuned scared off a lot of new players and therefor many have just never done them. Or these attunements would be an annoyance for you when trying to get into a dungeon on your alt. “Sethekk Halls heroic? No I can’t help you kill that boss, I don’t have the rep or the key to enter there…”, etc.

But I liked it, damn it. In fact, I loved it! And guess what, I’m not a hardcore “vanilla” player. I started playing in Wrath of the Lich King when pretty much all the keys you found were just for old content and therefor should just have been a deterrent for me to go to that old content. But it didn’t act as a deterrent for me, instead the idea of having to do something arduous to increase my character’s access to the world seemed really appealing to me.

I mean, it makes sense that you wouldn’t be let into certain places immediately without proving yourself first. Okay, maybe the Searing Gorge key is a bit odd. But the Scholomance key, Karazhan key or Algalon key quests for example, they are long winded and fantastic! I mean, come on. Do you really think it makes sense to just gain access to Algalon’s room of space and mystery without having to prove yourself a little bit? I mean, if you fail, the whole world ends. I don’t think that key should be handed out too hastily…

I also like the more absurd rep grinds and attunements… “You’ve defeated a million boars? Well gosh darn it, you deserve the key to my outhouse young lad! Also, have this tabard!” – More of that please. :)

Maybe I’m just getting to be one of these grumpy old “get off my lawn!”-dudes. Well, it’s a nice shiny lawn and you’re ruining it!

Interesting reading

Cheers,
Gav

About Gavendo

I write a World of Warcraft blog called "Rapid Fire" on the topics; hunters, pets and achievement hunting.
This entry was posted in Achievements, General, Patches and Hotfixes, Reflection and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to R.I.P. Keys

  1. Zinn says:

    I agree, I liked the attunement quests to most part (remember the karazhan one being quite epic if you read the quest texts). If only they would’ve made the attunements account bound so that once you had done it, you wouldn’t have to redo it on another char, unless you wanted to. For me, who played some 6 alts already back in BC, getting attuned with all of them for everything was getting annoying. I especially remember the attunement walk for Caverns of Time as being especially boring the 15th time… But I loved doing them the first time around, and it didn’t bother me that they were long.

  2. Inzy says:

    I just finished up the Kara key quest line on my Druid last night. I just felt the need to finish it up on a second character. ( 5 others at 80 or above and only one other character – my hunter main has the key.)

    I am going to miss the keys … for a short time, then the sense of nostalgia will pass. :)

  3. Carolan says:

    Hi Gavendo :), I’m with you completely here, and just left a comment saying as much on the MMO melting pot. I love the long tortuous quest chains that reward some small thing. I also enjoy the rep grinds, despite the boredom sometimes, because I feel I have achieved something in the game. I was very angry last night when I read the blue post and have spent today on my L85 alts getting the TBC heroic keys and 2 of them are part-way through the Kara key quest chain. All this just to complete things properly one more time. Its so sad when these things are removed from the game, when looking back at them brings back memories of good times along the way with friends. I don’t really care about possible awesome changes to bags, I’m quite happy with the way my bags are at the moment :D. I do care about having fun things to do. ./Bow to you, safe travels and have fun along the way. Carolan :)

  4. Bristal says:

    Um…we have keys?

  5. Gavendo says:

    @Zinn: Yes, account-bound attunements would’ve made sense. Then everyone gets a chance to do the attunements once, but not having to feel like they have to do them again on every single alt and grind themselves into the ground.

    @Bristal: Yes! Well, I do… did! :(

  6. Sensazione says:

    Now i wont be able to say i got an Algalon key :(

  7. Pingback: Hunter Soloing: The Mount Runs | Rapid Fire

Leave a Reply

