Checking off my bucket list

Today it’s exactly one week left before the next World of Warcraft expansion: Cataclysm goes live. This means that Wrath of the Lich King which ran for just over 2 years is over and that it’s time for you to get all your alts out of Northrend and back to the mainland. Brand new glorious content lies ahead, many new achievements, zones, dungeons, raids, mounts, pets and of course an endless supply of sexy items.

Reading the posts around the blogosphere today that are mostly about how everything is new, different, new again, cheap, sexy, more sexy, not sexy at all and some are even going full circle, makes me want to wrap up Wrath of the Lich King with checking off my own bucket list.

I wrote about what achievements were gonna go away long before they were removed and then wrote my own personal bucket list to finish off. Here it is again:

There are some other achievements that I’d like to do but I just don’t think there will be a window of opportunity to actually do them within the next month. Achievements such as Conquerer of Ulduar, A Tribute to Dedicated Insanity and of course; The Light of Dawn.

I was right, I wasn’t able to get any of the last ones I mentioned but I did get most of my reasonable set goals achieved. Here’s the updated list:

So I didn’t get that damn Raptor, just like most people. I did however get lucky and was granted the Swift Zulian Tiger by the mercy of the RNG gods and two fantastic titles. I wrote some articles on these subjects before and I’ve linked them below. Click the picture for the article you want to read.

Halion 10-man heroic

Herald of the Titans

Swift Zulian Tiger

The Immortal

How about you, did you finish your bucket list? Did you perhaps not even have a list and were you spending all your time reading up on upcoming raid instances and dungeons in Cataclym instead? Did you perhaps spend all your time reading the collected works of Dilbert comic strips? Either way, bucket lists are pretty cool.

Cheers,
Gav

About Gavendo

I write a World of Warcraft blog called "Rapid Fire" on the topics; hunters, pets and achievement hunting.
This entry was posted in Achievements, General, Reflection and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Checking off my bucket list

  1. Sighfigh says:

    I didn’t get anywhere near finishing my bucket list. So much to do, so little time.

  2. 4nx13ty phr34k says:

    Oohh I’m under sexy, well thank you good Sir :)
    My bucket list faded away … I admire your ingame dedication. At least I’ve managed to get myself up to 165k gold but I never got that Tiger Mount :'(
    I think I kind of gave up on it after finding out there is a Spectral wolf mount from the Hellscream faction in Cataclysm … and me want a mount of the same type of my main pet :D So Happy I iz…

    Disappointed over blizzard not showing love to us that grind rep … they even rub it in our faces with timbermaw faction which you now get 2000 rep for each 5 feathers handed in making it something you can finish while making tea. Did they increase or make any other rewards for having 53/55 (soon 54 with Bilgewater) exalted… and yes im counting the Horde faction as one even tho statistics does… nope blizzard thinks that showing off by having most factions exalted doesnt deserve any reward.

    Oh well, I guess I have to change my niche and become a PvP whore in Cataclysm.

    • Gavendo says:

      Maybe I should’ve written “foxy” for added effect! :)

      Yeah I probably wasn’t gonna use the Zul’Gurub mounts all that much either to be honest. I just wanted to have a mount of a different type than the other ones, hence the raptor looked very appealing (while the tiger didn’t). But now I’m pretty happy I have a little souvenir of a classic raid now lost.
      (Btw… if you ask me, I have a feeling we’ll see Zul’Gurub returning eventually as a raid or dungeon)

      2000 rep for each 5 feathers!? I hadn’t heard about this. That is terrible. -_-
      Well it follows the usual patterns, there have been lots of cases of reputation grinds becoming easier with the times. Winterspring Sabers and Argent Dawn comes to mind as classic examples.
      Maybe if I’m lucky, they’ll make the battleground reputation grinds easier one of these days maybe then I’ll actually go into one. :)

      Cheers,
      Gav

  3. Pingback: Cataclysmic Bucket List and OpenRaid | Rapid Fire

Leave a Reply

