Recovering from the Insane

If you checked out the short about section on this site then you’ve seen that I use the very sexy “the Insane” title.  I achieved this feat of strength on 2010/10/03 after about four months of grinding. I decided to write a little about my experience with it due to the recent news that the feat of strength will be unobtainable for people starting on it in Cataclysm.

Edit (2010/11/10): Since then, Blizzard has stated that the Insane will indeed be obtainable in Cataclysm, but the requirements have changed. Read about it here.

For this achievement you need to gain these standings with these old world factions:

  • Honored with Bloodsail Buccaneers
  • Exalted with Steamwheedle Cartel (Booty Bay, Everlook, Gadgetzan & Ratchet)
  • Exalted with Darkmoon Faire
  • Exalted with Ravenholdt
  • Exalted with Shen’dralar

Neither of these factions were meant to be grinded to exalted for any reason and therefor it’s very hard, time-consuming and costly to do so (apart from Bloodsail Buccaneers which is actually very fast and easy).

Preparation

You will save yourself hours upon hours of time while going for this achievement if you have the profession Engineering. I had it and it was absolutely essential for juggling all the Unique items using the portable mailbox.
Other things that will be very useful when going for this achievement are: Herbalism, Inscription, a lvl65+ rogue and a bankalt with a guildbank.

Bloodsail Buccaneers

I started with Bloodsail Buccaneers due to it being the easiest and fastest, and also because you will hurt your Steamwheedle Cartel reputation when gaining Bloodsail Buccaneers reputation and vice-versa. You don’t need to have all the reputations above at the same time, so doing Bloodsail Buccaneers first and then dropping down to hated with them isn’t a problem.
This was done in just a few hours by killing guards in Booty Bay and awarded me the nice bonus title “Bloodsail Admiral” for m the Avast Ye, Admiral! feat of strength.

Time spent: Less than a day
Cost: 0 gold
Earned in the process: “Bloodsail Admiral” title and some cool pirate clothes.

Steamwheedle Cartel

After doing Bloodsail Buccaneers, my Steamwheedle Cartel reputation had plummeted from full exalted. Yes, I had actually already done them before while going for “the Exalted”. Due to the mechanics of the achievement I didn’t need to gain back the reputation back with the goblin towns, but I did it anyway just because I wanted to. :)

I spent about 5k for a lot of overpriced cloth to do the cloth turn-ins per city (linen, silk, mageweave, runecloth) and quickly regained 42k reputation with each city (from full hated to neutral). This effectively cut the time I had to spend in Dire Maul grinding in half. After that I did ca. 100 Dire Maul North runs picking up (on average) one Gordok Shackle Key per run and turning it in for the Free Knot! quest, gaining 350 reputation with all goblin towns each time. Also turning in the mats required for The Gordok Ogre Suit every run for another 75 reputation each run.

Time spent: About 30 hrs of straight grinding (spread out over several weeks)
Cost: 5000 gold
Earned in the process: Many, many librams (almost all of the ones needed) and a few Pristine Black Diamonds.

Ravenholdt

There are two ways to go about this one. Either you can hurt your wallet or you can hurt your head with many hours of grinding, and to be honest I probably would’ve picked the latter if I already had high-level rogue, but I didn’t so I decided to go for the costly option.

I gained the first half of the reputation fast and easily during 2 days of grinding the Syndicate mobs in Durnholde Keep for 10 reputation each. I found this to be better than the recommended Stromgarde Keep in Arathi Highlands since there was no downtime, the mobs respawned so fast that I could go on killing endlessly.
Once you get to revered, killing mobs won’t yield anymore reputation. At this point all you can do to earn reputation is to turn in 1400 Heavy Junkboxes (pickpocketed by rogues from lvl 50-60 mobs) for the Junkboxes Needed quest.

I really didn’t want to level another alt (I don’t have a rogue) and decided to spam trade and ask friends to help me farm for these. After a few weeks I had about 10 rogues farming on and off for these junkboxes, I felt like a big company mogul employing the poor. It was awesome. :) The junkboxes kept coming in slowly but surely, but it was costly. No one was prepared to go farm for these unless they were offered 15g per junkbox so that’s what I offered them, it sounded fair to me considering you get one per tenth mob you pickpocket (on average).

It’s difficult to put into perspective just how many items 1400 NON-STACKABLE junkboxes really is, but here’s my attempt at describing the situation: My bank alt had filled all her guildbank spaces in every tab and her entire bank (maxed with 20-slot bags). My second bank alt had filled his entire bank and his regular bag slots and this was just over half of the amount of junkboxes. The rest were being mailed back and forth between these two bankalts.

It took about two months to get all the junkboxes and I imagine I would’ve been able to get all of them much quicker if I just leveled a rogue myself, but then again I was able to grind other stuff at the same time as this was going on.

Time spent: 2 days of active grinding, 2 months of waiting on lazy employees, an undefined amount of time spent moving junkboxes around (rest assured, it was a lot of time)
Cost: 21 000 gold
Earned in the process: Space consolidation skills

One of the many grinds for Pristine Black Diamonds, this one in Lower Blackrock Spire with a buddy of mine

Shen’dralar

Ok, now that I’ve gotten the easy stuff out of the way, comes the real test of my patience and sanity. To gain reputation with Shen’dralar you have to complete the libram quests (Protection, Rapidity and Focus). For each one of the quests you need the right kind of libram, some large brilliant shards, some BoP quest items (depending on what libram you turn in) and a Pristine Black Diamond.
For a lot of people, this is where this achievement hunt comes to an end.

I got all the quest items needed during a few days of repeatedly going back into Stratholme for the Frayed Abomination Stitching until I got the instance lockout message and then moving onto aimlessly roaming around Western and Eastern Plaguelands looking for Blood of Heroes (which is very hard to find) then moving into Scholomance once the lockout was up and grabbing Skin of Shadow.

I had gotten most of the librams through my Steamwheedle Cartel grinding and was able to get the rest of the auction house for 100g each. Having a bankalt with a guildbank was absolutely essential when it came to stocking up these librams since they are Unique (you can only carry one of each kind on you at the same time).

My Dire Maul runs had only yielded something like 3-4 Pristine Black Diamonds and I needed 84 in total (for 84 turn-ins). This item drops very very rarely from lvl50-60 dungeons and some lvl60 raids. I tried farming it in Upper Blackrock Spire and Zul’Gurub for awhile but only got one diamond out of over 10 runs.

So, I started spamming trade with the declaration that I was willing to buy Pristine Black Diamonds at 250g each and informing people that they could whisper me for more information or just mail it to me straight away C.O.D.
This sporadically was very successful, sometimes I could get 5-15 diamonds in one day, other times I had to wait weeks between each new diamond. Mostly it seemed to inspire people to put diamonds up on the auction house for a lot more than 250g. I kept seeing auctions for diamonds priced at 600-800g each, some of these people I managed to convince to sell me their diamonds at a lower price through mail contact and others I just bought…
I also spammed trade hordeside and bought diamonds from their auction house, transferring things across via the neutral auction house.

All in all, it was very costly and very time-consuming.

Time spent: 3-4 days of actively grinding the quest items, about 2 months spamming trade and doing auction house speculation.
Cost: 30 000 gold, I aimed for 21 000 gold in total but ended up paying a bit more.
Earned in the process: An understanding of the value of trade-spamming.

Have you ever seen this many Darkmoon decks in one spot before? I sure hadn't.

Darkmoon Faire

Just one to go! It’ll be over soon right? What.. No? What do you mean “The worst is yet to come”? Oh fu…
Yes, Darkmoon Faire, was a big pain in my ass.

To gain reputation with Darkmoon Faire you can do some easy turn-ins and and easy quests… That is, until 2000/6000 friendly. After that, it’s a pure masochistic extravaganza. The only way to gain reputation is to turn in Darkmoon Card decks at 25-350 reputation each. I opted to only go for the 350 reputation decks, 109 of them.  I started with this on day one of my grind by advertising that I’ll buy any lvl60-80 darkmoon deck for 300g in trade. After over 3 months I had only gotten about 20 decks and had ended up spending far more per deck than what I was planning.

I leveled up an alt for Inscription and got my Herbalist alt to farm many, many herbs (I calculated I needed about 51 000 herbs) and went to work. I discovered quickly that I had no patience for farming – which is odd since I have tremendous patience when it comes to grinding stupid shit – and ended up buying most of the herbs instead. I spent over 60k on herbs and other materials needed in less than a week and was able to get the rest of the decks I needed.

Time spent: 4 months
Cost: About 70 000 gold (net cost closer to 47 000 gold)
Earned in the process: I was able to resell a lot of the trinkets you get from the decks at 10-75% of the original value.

Glory, at last!

Summary

This achievement took me about 4 months to complete and ended up costing me about
103 000 gold and it was all worth it. I’m extra happy with having it done now that we’ve learned it won’t be obtainable in Cataclysm. It feels good to be one of the few who “were there” as Bashiok said, sorta like the Scarab Lord achievement. While at the same time I feel sorry for all of those out there who wants to do this but just haven’t been able to finish it yet. If you have any chance of being able to complete this before Cataclysm, I urge you to go for it. It’s just awesome when you’re done!

Oh and a note about the title for this article.
I’ve finally recovered from the Darkmoon Faire grind! During the last month my bankalts guildbank has been absolutely covered with trinkets, surplus decks and cards. It took me about a month to sell it off but in that time I’ve managed to sell pretty much every extra card and trinket that I expected to ever be able to sell. This includes lvl60-80 trinkets, cards and decks (in the same level range). I didn’t get quite as much as I hoped for each card/trinket, but I definitely cut my losses. Now I finally have some space in my bank and some cash in my wallet. :)

Cheers,
Gav

About Gavendo

I write a World of Warcraft blog called "Rapid Fire" on the topics; hunters, pets and achievement hunting.
This entry was posted in Achievements, General, Reflection, Videos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Recovering from the Insane

  1. Pingback: Latest beta build brings insane changes? | Rapid Fire

  2. Lord Kaladar says:

    How do you honestly get THAT much money, even over that long a time?

  3. Gavendo says:

    Mostly from playing the action house. Back in those days I had LW/Eng/Herb/Alch/Ench/Tail maxed across various characters. For each one of the professions there was something I could craft to generate a profit.

    It’s simple really, you go through what you can craft with your professions, then think of what might sell. For example, raiding gear, raiding enchants, gems, etc. Stuff people use/need.

    Then you look into what the material requirements are for those things you can craft, compare the cost of buying them to what the finished product will sell for and voila, there’s your profit.

    Don’t expect to make thousands on each item, aim for many small profits instead.

    This is honestly all I did to generate that kind of gold and I wasn’t even very diligent about it, just did it now and then… maybe 20min per week?

    Hope this helps! :)

    Cheers,
    Gav

  4. Pingback: Thori’dal, the Grinders’ Fury | Rapid Fire

Leave a Reply

